People of the Foundation

Millennium Park Foundation is privileged to be governed by an active and dedicated Board of Directors and staff. Their stewardship allows Millennium Park to maintain an uncompromisingly high standard in art, architecture, landscape design, and cultural programming.

Board of Directors

The Foundation is guided by a committed Board of Directors representing a variety of professional and cultural backgrounds.


Ms. Donna LaPietra, Chair and President    Mr. Michael L. Keiser
Mr. Henry Kleeman, Secretary and Counsel

Mr. Doug Mabie
Mr. Cary D. McMillan, Treasurer
Mr. Randy Mehrberg


Ms. Katie Nixon
Mr. James J. O’Connor, Jr.
Mr. John W. Rogers

Mr. A. Steven Crown
Mr. John Mabie
Mr. James J. O’Connor, Sr.*
Mr. William Sick



Millennium Park Foundation is comprised of a small group of dedicated staff who play catalyst to several entities, including its Board of Directors, DCASE programming and events teams, Lurie Garden staff, maintenance and operations teams, and third-party vendors who all work collaboratively to maintain the high-quality standard of Millennium Park.

Executive Director

Christine Zrinsky

Christine Zrinsky serves as the Executive Director of the Millennium Park Foundation and brings a passion for the natural world and ensuring that the city’s treasures remain free and accessible to all.  Christine is deeply committed to Chicago and is dedicated to enhancing and maintaining the Park’s beauty and grandeur.  Christine loves being outdoors and is inspired by art, music, and the natural world.

Prior to joining the Millennium Park team, Christine served at Chicago’s Lincoln Park Zoo for nearly 28 years, raising funds to keep the zoo free and world class.  Her first fundraising role was at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra after she received her bachelor’s degree in journalism from Valparaiso University.

Head Horticulturalist, Lurie Garden

Kathryn Deery

Kathryn serves as Head Horticulturist of Lurie Garden and is passionate about the vital role public gardens play in communities. Her goal is to maintain the design integrity of Lurie Garden while facilitating the garden’s evolution. She aims to prioritize both the beauty and ecological function of Lurie Garden while maintaining a high standard of horticulture.

Kathryn previously held positions in horticulture and public programming at the Chicago Botanic Garden. Additionally, she worked in habitat restoration with the Golden Gate Parks Conservancy and served as a Conservation Corps North Bay AmeriCorps member. Kathryn earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Science from the University of Michigan.



Assistant Horticulturalist, Lurie Garden

Kristian Brooks

Kristian serves as the Assistant Horticulturist for Lurie Garden. She is passionate about the intersection of art, nature, and public space. The greatest reward of her work is enabling meaningful moments of inspiration, curiosity, connection, and peace among visitors to the garden.

Kristian has previously held positions with Chicago Botanic Garden, Lyric Opera of Chicago, Paramount Theatre, NETworks, and Aerial Dance Chicago. Her love of the natural world is deeply rooted in the wild landscapes of her family’s farm and nursery. She feels most at home surrounded by plants and is proud to continue a generations-long legacy of caring for them. Kristian earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Language, Media, and Communications from the University of Rochester in Rochester, NY.








A list of those who contributed to their shared vision of Millennium Park


Anonymous (1)
Barbara and James F. Beré
Naomi T. and Robert C. Borwell
Joan Boughton and Henry Kleeman
Suzann and Gary Brinson
Neville and John Bryan
Gilda and Henry Buchbinder Family
Kay and Matthew Bucksbaum
Rosemarie and Dean L. Buntrock
Rita and John Canning
The Clinton Family
Gary and Francie Comer
The Crown Family
Judy and Jamie Dimon
Sue and Wes Dixon
Richard H. Driehaus
Janet and Craig Duchossois
Deborah and Bruce Duncan
Andrew “Flip” & Veronica Filipowski Family
Ginny and Peter Foreman Family
Linda and Bill Gantz
Glasser and Rosenthal Family
Anne and Howard Gottlieb
William B. Graham
Perry and Marty Granoff
Joyce and Avrum Gray and Family
Anne and Kenneth Griffin
Sandra and Jack Guthman

Bette and Neison Harris
Joan W. and Irving B. Harris
Natalie and Ben W. Heineman
Mellody Hobson and George Lucas
Blair Hull and Family
Judy and Verne Istock
Debby and Ned Jannotta
Gretchen and Jay Jordan
Anne and Burt Kaplan
Dolores Kohl Kaplan and Morris A. Kaplan
Lindy and Michael Keiser
Connie and Dennis Keller
Rebecca and Lester Knight Family
Janet and Michael Krasny
Kay and Fred Krehbiel
Posy and John Krehbiel
Bill Kurtis and Donna LaPietra
Lavin and Bernick Family
Liz and Eric Lefkofsky
Carol and Larry Levy Family
Loucks Family
Ann Lurie
Martha and John Mabie
Mary and Robert C. McCormack
Barry MacLean Family
Newton N. and Josephine Baskin Minow
Janet and Richard Morrow

Muriel Kallis Newman & son Glenn Steinberg
John D. and Alexandra C. Nichols
Ellen and Jim O’Connor
Cathy and Bill Osborn
Suzanne and James Otterbeck Family
Sarah and Peer Pedersen
Port, Washlow, and Errant Family
Eleanor and William Wood
Prince Pritzker Family
Diana and Bruce Rauner
Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Family
Michele Schara and Randy Mehrberg Family
Chris and Ted Schwartz
Dan Searle
Sally and Bill Searle
Stephanie and Bill Sick
Alice and Frank Slezak Family
Lois and Harrison Steans Stone Family
The Stuart Family
Helen and Richard Thomas
Howard J. and Paula Miller Trienens
Tina and Byron Trott
Kim and Miles White
Oprah Winfrey
Vivian and Alexander Wislow
Helen and Sam Zell
Lisa W. and James J. Zenni, Jr.


The Allstate Corporation
Arthur Andersen
Aon Corporation
Ariel Investments
Bank of America
BMO Harris Financial Group
Baxter International

The Boeing Company
CNA Foundation
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
JMB Realty Corporation
McDonald’s Corporation
Northern Trust

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Sara Lee Corporation
The Sears-Roebuck Foundation
Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company Foundation


Cooper Family Foundation
Marshall and Jamee Field Family Fund
Lloyd A. Fry Foundation
The Grainger Foundation
J. Ira and Nicki Harris Family Foundation
Kovler Family Foundation

The Francis L. Lederer Foundation
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Foundation
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Robert R. McCormick Foundation
Elizabeth Morse Genius Charitable Trusts
Polk Bros. Foundation

The Regenstein Foundation
Dr. Scholl Foundation
The Searle Funds at The Chicago Community Trust
The Siragusa Foundation